Four trustee positions contested in May 5 election

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Early voting is April 23-May 1.

By Alison Graef

All incumbents face opposition in the May 5 general election for single-member Districts 5, 6 and 7, and the special election for District 9.

Early voting is April 23-May 1 at polling locations in San Antonio, including at Northwest Vista College.

Filing closed Feb. 16 and ballot positions were selected Feb. 26.

To determine your district, visit

The candidates by race are:

District 5

Roberto Zarate, 69, District 5 incumbent and retired educator

James Hernandez, 25, case manager

Ramiro Nava, 44, educator


District 6

Gene Sprague, 72, District 6 incumbent and professor at UT Health San Antonio

Jacob Andrew Wong, 39, Alamo Colleges employment specialist and former student trustee


District 7

David W. Fischer, 80, retired university professor

Yvonne Katz, 74, board chair, District 7 incumbent and retired superintendent


District 9

Joe Jesse Sanchez, 70, retired and District 9 incumbent

Felix M. Grieder, 60, process engineer


Leave A Reply